Топик : The commonwealth of Australia 

Полнотекстовый поиск по базе:

Главная >> Топик >> Иностранный язык

The commonwealth of Australia

The commonwealth of Australia

The Commonwealth of Australia is a federal state within the Commonwealth of Nations. Its territories are the continent of Australia, the island of Tasmania and a number of smaller islands. It has an area of about eight million square kilometres.

The continent of Australia is mostly a great plain with mountains in the east and south-east. The western part of the continent forms a plateau which occupies half of the continent. Australia's greatest rivers are the Murray and the Darling. Australia has several different climatic regions, from warm to subtropical and tropical.

There are five big cities in Australia: Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, Perth and Brisbane. Each city is the capital of the state in which it is situated. Most of the factories are concentrated in or around the big cities. They produce goods for the motor-car, machine-building, clothing and food industries. Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, Brisbane and Perth are the country's main ports. Agriculture is the main occupation in Australia. Wheat and sugar are the main agricultural crops, fruit-growing is also highly developed. Australia is famous for its sheep. The great sheep-farms, called sheep-stations are found in many parts of the country.

Today there are about fifteen million people in Australia, most of them are of British origin. There are now only 40000 full aborigines in the country.

The Commonwealth of Australia is a self-governing federal state. Formally the head of the state is the King or Queen of England represented by the Governor-General. The Commonwealth of Australia consists of six states and two territories: the Federal Capital Territory and the Northern Territory. The Capital Territory is the land around the Federal Capital, Canberra. Australia has a parliament in each state and the Federal Parliament of the Commonwealth at Canberra. The Federal Parliament consists of the Senate and the House of Representatives. The federal government of the country is headed by the Prime Minister, usually the leader of the party which has the majority.

Список литературы

Для подготовки данной работы были использованы материалы с сайта http://english-language.chat.ru/

Похожие работы:

  • The Queen of the UK

    Топик >> Иностранный язык
    ... his proposed visit to Australia and New Zealand. The Princess, accompanied by ... Britain and throughout the Commonwealth. Accompanied by The Duke of Edinburgh, The Queen travelled ... the course of the year The Queen and The Duke of Edinburgh also visited Australia ...
  • The U.S. Army Campaigns of World War II

    Реферат >> Иностранный язык
    ... the Pacific the United States also had Allies--Australia and New Zealand. Yet the ... General Douglas MacArthur's command in the Commonwealth of the Philippines. Both were peacetime ... , they could threaten Australia and cut the American line of communications ...
  • The United Kingdom of Great Britain

    Реферат >> Иностранный язык
    ... which the modern Commonwealth eventually emerged. THE INDUSTRIAL REVOLUTION The Industrial ... Australia, were described in 1926 as autonomous members of the oBritish Commonwealth ... most of them joined the Commonwealth. Immigration from former territories ...
  • The history of Australia

    Реферат >> История
    ... the separate colonies in Australia merged together and became the States of the Commonwealth of Australia ... , which acquired the status of dominion of Great Britain. The Commonwealth of Australia ...
  • Australia on the world’s tourist map

    Реферат >> Иностранный язык
    ... some have been. The political system of Australia The Commonwealth of Australia is a self-governing ... federal state and a member of the Commonwealth ...
  • The History of English

    Топик >> Иностранный язык
    ... them are now members of the Commonwealth of Nations, and English continues ... Canada. So did the Aborigines in Australia, and the Maoris in New Zealand ... countries such as Britain, the USA. Canada Australia. New Zealand. South Africa ...
  • The Church of England

    Топик >> Иностранный язык
    ... Cromwell's forces during the Commonwealth period. After 1646, however, the Puritan emphasis upon ... established alongside colonisation in the United States, Australia, Canada, New Zealand and ...
  • Reforming government in Australia

    Сочинение >> Иностранный язык
    ... the Hutt River Province in Western Australia. Democratic electoral improvements in the states, the commonwealth ... and local government. Bring on the ...
  • Genocide in Australia

    Реферат >> Иностранный язык
    ... beginning of European settlement in Australia. The early settlers often simply ... Queensland, Western Australia and the Northern Territory, where the rates of removal ... but valueless”. In 1937 the Commonwealth Minister of the Interior, John McEwen, visited ...
  • Thе Communist Party of Australia

    Сочинение >> Иностранный язык
    ... outcry ended with the Commonwealth Arbitration Court being discredited. The Maritime Industries Bill ... throughout Australia.” Enclosed with the report were the two letters addressed to the CEC and the ...